“Compulsive hoarding (or pathological collecting)”

Opening the 2 bottom drawers in my cabinet, you will find 8 cameras sitting in there (8 out of the total 20 of so that are lying around the place), of all of these, there is a rotation sequence that I take them out and shoot, but as most of these are film cameras, the wait in-between an outing can be quite a few months….. So, I decided to… clean out the drawers and see what I should part with? tonight, I’ve started to clean and put on the table the first logical lot.

Umm, can I just say that there is no way I can use between these 4, I know one of the M3 was a converted job from a Single Stroke to a Double as the serial number seems to be too close for them to be different. So as far as a collector’s item it may not be that great, but I’ve come to love to shoot with these M3s, one has a Elmarit 90 on it all the time, whilst the other sports either a Voigtlander Nokton 35mm f1.4 Classic, or the collapsible Elmar 50 f2.8 that it came with. The M6 gets used weekly, so that’s a no brainer and the two accompanying lens that goes with that stays (the Summicron 50mm f2 and the Canon 50mm f1.2 LTM). The CL, well the CL could potentially go. But, but, but, I’ve just recently bought a battery adapter for its failing light meter, and it’s working like a charm. It was the first M body that I own with a light meter and it has captured some great memories.. I just can’t part with that. which brings us back to the title today……

Over the coming weeks, I shall endeavour to put the rest of my hoard up here. I’ll leave today with the first four that I cannot part with!

Leica M3 with the 90mm Elmarit:

Then there is another M3, seen here with the collapsible Elmar 50mm:

The Leica CL with the Voigtlander Nokton Classic 35mm 1.4:

and finally the M6:

Seriously, how can anyone choose between these 🙂

Leave a Reply

